Week four: Tired

“I love sleep. My life has the tendency to fall apart when I’m awake, you know?”
-Ernest Hemingway

Song mood: “Move” – Saint Motel

early morning on the road

The alarm went off at 4 AM on the dot. I rolled over in bed and cursed. Having my alarm go off this early was not really new, but I usually snoozed it for a half hour in order to ease into my day. This morning was different because in order for me to get to work in time and squeeze my 5 mile run in, I had to actually get out of my bed AT THAT MOMENT.

Groggy and disoriented I went to grab my running clothes. I had one pair of running pants left to wear. The recent increase in my workouts have resulted in me never having clean clothes, even after doing laundry constantly. The shirt was questionable but it was fine, I was just going to sweat in it in a few minutes anyway.

I’m out the door sometime between 4:30 and 5 AM, confident I can do this since it’s only 5 miles. When I start, my feet are dragging. They actually do not want to move at all. Although my breathing felt easy and light, all my muscles stiffened and it took all my effort to move in slow motion. Running through molasses. I pushed through my body exhaustion and things started to improve. At around 2 miles I could feel my ankles loosening a bit and my hamstrings calm down. I felt myself speeding up in the last 2 miles and some quick pace checks confirmed that I was at a respectable 10-ish minute mile. I was satisfied that I was doing alright until I checked the average pace at the end of the run. 11-minute mile. Well shit. I guess I had been dragging more than I realized in the beginning. How is this possible when just this past Saturday I had no trouble doing 9 miles at a 10:41 pace?

Getting used to any new schedule can be tough. This one has made me just plain tired. It seems like any free moment I have, I am working out. I feel sore all the time. Sleeping in on Saturday is a thing of the past, since everything needs to be planned around the long run. I’m not saying I’m not enjoying the training, because I really am loving it, extra workouts and all. But this Monday morning, the weight of it came down on me hard. Exhaustion. Fatigue. I may be tired, but I continue to move forward. I’m coming for you Chicago – in less than 3 months!

Run in the morning

4 thoughts on “Week four: Tired

Leave a Reply

